Alice Cooper

  • Year:
  • Inducted by:
    Rob Zombie
  • Category:


Alice Cooper specialized in psychedelic-tinted music that presaged (and inspired) glam, hard rock, metal and even punk.

The mighty quintet paired this music with theatrical and, at times, terrifying stage shows featuring things such as electric chair simulations and guillotine beheadings. Outside of the horror shtick, Alice Cooper never skimped on songwriting, which explains why "School's Out" and "No More Mr. Nice Guy" remain fist-pumping favorites.

Hall of Fame Essay


Brad Tolinski

By any standards, 1973 was an exceptional year for rock & roll. Its twelve months saw the release of such gems as Pink Floyd’s The Dark Side of the Moon, Led Zeppelin’s Houses of the Holy, the Who’s Quadrophenia, Stevie Wonder's Innervisions, Elton John’s Goodbye Yellow Brick Road, and debuts from Lynyrd Skynyrd, Aerosmith, Queen, and the New York Dolls.

But the most provocative and audacious treasure of that banner year was Alice Cooper’s masterpiece, Billion Dollar Babies, a brilliant lampoon of American excess.

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony Program Cover 2011
1 of 6
Before Alice Cooper, there was not a rock show.
Rob Zombie